(Cedar Rapids, IA 07/19/2013)—First Supply, the Midwest’s premier whole sale distributor of plumbing, HVAC, builder, and industrial supplies,  presented racing in all  six divisions of the HyVee/I-Wireless Championship Series Friday night at Hawkeye Downs Speedway. The event also featured a regional points qualifier for the INEX Dublin City Pub Legends.

            Matt Petrzelka returned to victory lane in the Barron Motor Supply Hobby Stocks, one week after losing his first feature race of the season. Petrzelka used a high side pass on lap four to take the point from Matt LaCousiere who had held the lead to that point. LaCoursiere didn’t give up the fight though and continued to battle just inside of Petrzelka’s rear quarter for three laps before Petrzelka finally was able to lay clear claim to the position. LaCoursiere  held on to second  with Jason Sherman finishing third.

            In Mountain Dew Sportsmen, Ben Glascock used an outside front row start to power into an early lead and then held off point leader Dave McCalla to claim his first feature win of 2013. The pair ran sids-by-side for much of the race with Glascock surrendering the lead to McCalla on lap seven . The pair remained locked in a tight battle with McCalla holding a narrow edge until lap fourteen when Glascock regained control of the point.

With three laps left, McCalla tried one final charge but had to alter his desired line to navigate lapped traffic and he was forced to settle for second. Dave Ballstaedt finished third after starting on the pole.

Caleb Adrian led the first trip around the quarter-mile in the Dublin City Pub Legends feature but Bryce Bailey slipped by on lap two with Kyle Diercks in close pursuit. By lap seven Diercks moved to challenge but Bailey continued to hold him off until lap sixteen when Diercks took command bringing a big crowd of cars with him including Tim Goettsch, Jason Beauregard, Austin Kunert, and Kevin Korsmo.

The field was reset with 7 laps remaining after a spin by Cole O’Brien. Kevin Korsmo moved into second on the restart and set his sights on Diercks but ran out of laps to make a serious challenge for the point. Korsmo finished second, Austin Kunert was third, Tim Goettsch was fourth, and Johnny Kringas was fifth.

Tim Plummer once again made easy work of the Miller Time Modified feature after taking the lead on the first lap and leaving the rest of the field behind without a challenge. Brian Gibson was his closest pursuer with Ryan Luedtke running third. Caution did slow the action with eight laps remaining but Plummer was able to jet away from the field again on the restart. Gibson maintained second and Luedtke was third across the stripe.

Brad Chandler emerged victorious in a rather messy Sunline Hornets feature that saw only half of the starting field still on the track as they took the checkers.  Chandler took the lead off a lap two restart and watched the carnage in his rear view mirror as cars spun and crashed throughout the twenty-lap feature. Two cautions in the final five laps slowed the action and kept Kurt Bohnsack close to Chandler but Bohnsack wasn’t able to muster a serious challenge on the final restart. Bohnsack settled for second with CJ Van Horn finishing third in just his third outing of the season.

Finally, the Performance Concepts Late Models feature saw Griffin McGrath take the point on lap seven and he wasn’t challenged the rest of the way in picking up his eighth win of the season.  Brad Osborn, Chad Siems, and Brad Osborn had a spirited battle over the first five laps with Osborn holding the point until McGrath passed him. McGrath had extended his lead to a safe distance by lap ten while Jay Jaspers and Andy Edwards battled over the second spot. Those two continued to fight over second for the balance of the feature while McGrath motored away.

Jaspers held on to second with Edwards finishing third. Tim Plummer finished fourth and Chad Siems posted a fifth place run.

Racing returns next Friday, July 26 for Casey’s General Stores Night.





Hy Vee/I-Wireless Championship Series

First Supply Night

JULY 19, 2013



HEAT- 1. (2) Matt Lacoursiere, Cedar Rapids; 2. (22) Matt Petrzelka, Norway; 3. (11) Brian Bries, Norway; 4. (54) Matt Sherman, Marengo; 5. (2x) Bob McCorkle, Marion

FEATURE (10 laps) 1. Petrzelka 2. LaCoursiere 3. Sherman 4. McCorkle 5. Bries



HEAT- 1. (83) Ben Glascock, Indianola; 2. (3) Dave McCalla, Cedar Rapids; 3. (9) Dave Ballstaedt, Marion; 4. (6x) Bob Ahrendsen, Cedar Rapids; 5. (35) Greg Hentrich, Hiawatha

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Glascock 2. McCalla 3. Ballstaedt 4. Ahrendsen 5. Hentrich



HEAT 1- 1. (10k) Johnny Kringas, Homer Glen, IL ; 2 (01) Tim Goettsch, Davenport; 3. (51) Bryce Bailey, Cedar Rapids; 4. (66) Dennis Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (32) Gary Dyer, Bettendorf; 6. (77) Warren Ropp, Kalona; 7. (Z3) Adrian Hartman, Wilton; 8. (2M) Mike Mueller, Waupon, WI; DNS- Allen Diercks, Bettendorf

HEAT 2- 1. (86) Kevin Korsmo, Atkins; 2. (29k) Austin Kunert, Batavia, IL; 3. (29) Caleb Adrian, Davenport; 4. (43) Kyle Diercks, Eldridge; 5. (02) Jason Beauregard, Cedar Rapids; 6. (99m) Logan Mitchell, Palmyra, MO; 7. (10) Mark IKronside, Swisher; 8. (25) Cole O’Brien, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (30 laps) - 1. Kyle Diercks 2. Korsmo 3. Kunert 4.Goettsch 5. Kringas 6. Dennis Diercks; 7. Bailey 8. Ropp 9. Ironside 10. Adrian 11. Mitchell 12. Allen Diercks 13. Dyer 14. O’Brien 15. Hartman 16. Mueller 17. Beauregard



HEAT- 1. (66) Tim Plummer, Norway; 2. (17) Brian Gibson, Walford; 3. (8) Ryan Luedtke, Norway; 4. (26) James Dixon, Cedar Rapids; 5. (49) Steve Lindell, Marion; 6. (5) Ed O’Brien, Cedar Rapids; 7. (2) Craig Bender, Cedar Rapids (DNF)

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Plummer 2. Gibson 3. Luedtke 4. O’Brien 5. Lindell 6. Dixon DNS- Bender




HEAT 1- 1. (9D) Dan Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 2. (8R) Dallas Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 3. (54) CJ Van Horn, Marion; 4. (7B) Brad Schmidt, Cedar Rapids; 5. (14) Zach Hartman, Cedar Rapids

HEAT 2- 1. (2) Brad Chandler, Cedar Rapids; 2. (4) Kurt Bohnsack, Iowa City; 3. (24) Jose DeJesus, Cedar Rapids; 4. (44) Troy Scott, Cedar Rapids; DNS- Aaron Jarvis, Cedar Rapids

FEATURE (20 laps) 1. Brad Chandler 2. Bohnsack 3. Van Horn 4. Scott 5. Jarvis 6. Dan Schmidt 7. DeJesus 8. Brad Schmidt 9. Hartman DQ- Dallas Chandler



HEAT-  1. (64) Griffin McGrath, Cedar Rapids; 2. (72) Brad Osborn, Janesville; 3. (36) Andy Edwards, New Hartford; 4. (95) Jay Jaspers, Steamboat Rock; 5. (74) Tim Plummer, Norway 6. (43) Scott Siems, Cedar Rapids; 7. (76) Chad Siems, Shellsburg

FEATURE (30 laps) 1. McGrath 2. Jaspers 3. Edwards 4. Plummer 5. Chad Siems 6. Scott Siems 7. Osborn